In 2010 Eat Smart to Protect Your Health

The new year finds us in a national health care crisis. Politics aside, we need  prevention-centered health care, where taking responsibility for our own health and living a healthy lifestyle  is rewarded. The food we eat is the single most important factor impacting our health. Yes,  it is important and necessary to exercise and manage stress, but if you eat foods that trigger an immune reaction, inflammation will result. Inflammation of our bodies tissues and organs is the major cause of most chronic disease and chronic pain. Being sick and feeling bad is no fun.

The goal of this blog is uncover the “healthy” truth about food, nutrition and medical research so that we can eat smart to protect our health. Each week I will try to sort through the confusion and clutter in the media so that we can find the most delicious way to strengthen our immune system and control our weight.

In the meantime, let me know what is on your mind when it comes to eating smart to protect your health.

Cheers,

Dr. Claudia Pillow, PhD.

2 Comments

  1. sandy wolfe said,

    April 9, 2010 at 6:01 pm

    Hi,
    I have a wonderful trainer who has helped me lose 88 pounds. Although she doubled over in pain after eating my homemade cookies, she adored them the past three Christmases.
    Donna, my trainer, has recently been diagnosed Gluten Intolerant.
    I’ve recently purchased you Gluten-Free Baking Classics (second edition) and will be trying out your receipes Donna loves my Tri-color cookies. For Easter I substituted almond meal for the flour in my recipe. That was all I changed because I hadn’t purchased your book as of then. She said the cookies were delish and she had no problems after eating them. They were too sweet and “loose”, I thought. In reading your cookbook, I realize I’ll have to “play around” with the expensive recipe. You have my permission to use the recipe below in whatever way you’d like if you can help me avoid that expense and give me the correct adjusted ingredient amounts I’d need to use. I’ve all ready purchased glutenfree multi-purpose flour from King Arthur Flour and will substitute that for the all purpose flour called for in the recipe and 1/2 tsp. of xanthum gum. I’m sure there must be formulas to convert this recipe to a gluten free one, but I’m not a schooled pastry chef or baker and do not know them.
    Eagerly awaiting your reply….
    Sandy Wolfe
    Tri-Color Cookies
    3 sticks unsalted Keller’s butter
    1 c. Dominos granulated sugar
    4 eggs, separated
    1 tsp. almond extract
    8 oz. almond paste
    2 c. sifted flour
    1/2 tsp. salt (optional)
    Wilton Gel Colors
    12 oz. Nestle’ semisweet chocolate chips
    Smucker’s seedless raspberry jam

    Preheat oven 350 degrees; grease three 13″ X 9″ X 2″ pans lined with parchment paper
    Yield: approximately 6 dozen 1″ pieces

    Break up almond paste and put into a mixer. Add butter, sugar, egg yolks and almond extract. Beat until light and fluffy.
    Add flour and optional salt. Beat egg whites until stiff. Fold stiff egg whites into the flour mixture.
    Divide the dough into thirds and mix red food coloring into one; green into the second while leaving the third plain.
    Spread mixtures into 3 pans and bake approximately 15 minutes until set. Cool 10 minutes on rack.
    Heat jam. Spread jam on first layer (which will be the bottom color). Remove parchment paper and top with second layer. Then repeat with preserves. Cover with top layer. Place a sheet of wax paper on top. Weigh down the layers with approximately 40 lbs. of “something” overnight. (I use bags of sugar).
    Next day, melt chocolate morsels (microwave at 50% power for 30 second intervals, stirring every 30 seconds) and spread over the top of the three layers. As soon as the chocolate is set, or hardens, cut the tricolor almond bars or tricolors into squares. Store in fridge in an airtight container. Keeps fresh about a week.

    • April 13, 2010 at 7:53 pm

      Hi Sandy,
      I passed the recipe on to Annalise in hopes for her to weigh in. She should reply directly to you very soon. The recipe is very similar to her Almond Butter Cookies in the Gluten-Free Baking Classics Cookbook. Do you own a copy?
      Claudia


Leave a Reply

