Delicious Gluten-Free Pasta from GlutenOut

Last week I had the pleasure of sampling gluten-free pastas and breads from GlutenOut; they are imported from Italy and delivered frozen to your door.  The website is http://www.byebyegluti.com/home.php.

The gnocchi was delicious. It cooked up in several minutes and then I tossed it with a homemade sauce made of fresh tomatoes and basil from my garden, garlic and olive oil. I finished the dish with a touch of cream and freshly grated parmesan reggiano. It was a treat, since I couldn’t remember the last time I had eaten gnocchi. And at $8.49 for 10.6 ounces, it was really a treat. The pasta was soft and the sauce clung to the nooks and crannies.  My teenage daughter took one bite, proclaimed the gnocchi was fantastic and proceeded to finish the entire sample.

Next up was the Foccacia. I baked it in the oven as per the directions but on a pizza stone. The Foccacia was light and crisp. We dipped it in flavored olive oil and ate it with cheese. It delivered the goods and reminded me of many Italian gluten meals where I enjoyed a slice of Foccacia and a glass of red wine with my meal. Yum! This Foccacia would make mouthwatering Panini sandwiches. But at $9.99 for 2 (total weight 10.6 ounces), I’m not sure I will be seeing it a Macaroni Grill anytime soon.

I encourage you to explore the ByeByeGluti website and order a couple of old favorites, as a treat, if for no other reason, but to realize that delicious gluten-free gnocchi, ravioli, and Foccacia are a click away.

Bon Appetit!

2 Comments

  1. Michelle said,

    June 26, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Doctor,

    I have had GlutenOut in Italy and I can say that I am pleased the product has been brought to the United States. As a Celiac myself, the quality of the product is fanastic and the cost is worthwhile. For someone that cannot go back to eating regular semolina pasta, this is the only alternative that I believe is worth the money. I have had other brands and they simply do not compare. I’d rather pay for GlutenOut’s quality than the other brands’ mediocre flavor. As an Italian Celiac, GlutenOut is the closest tasting gluten-free food to authentic Italian cuisine. I encourage every Celiac and gluten intolerant person to try GlutenOut, as it is not a luxury for us but a necessity.

    Sincerely,
    Michelle

    • June 26, 2010 at 5:00 pm

      I agree that the GlutenOut pasta is delicious. Hopefully many people will try the pasta and word will spread. I met the importer, and he is dedicated to serving the market in America. I was very impressed and plan to teach an Italian gluten-free class using his product this fall.


Leave a Reply

